PageRenderTime 1ms CodeModel.GetById 40ms app.highlight 17ms RepoModel.GetById 13ms app.codeStats 0ms

/README.md

https://github.com/a-West/duckduckgo
Markdown | 49 lines | 41 code | 8 blank | 0 comment | 0 complexity | 0a060762604dcde9f54e635893e0b3cb MD5 | raw file
 1DuckDuckHack Developer Overview
 2===
 3## What is this?
 4
 5[DuckDuckGo](https://duckduckgo.com/) is a general purpose search engine. We've created a platform called [DuckDuckHack](http://duckduckhack.com/) that enables developers to write open source plugins on top of the search engine (like [add-ons for Firefox](https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/duckduckgo-for-firefox/?src=ss)). DuckDuckGo plugins react to search queries and provide [useful](https://duckduckgo.com/?q=%40duckduckgo) [instant](https://duckduckgo.com/?q=roman+xvi) [answers](https://duckduckgo.com/?q=private+ips) above traditional links.
 6
 7![instant answer example](https://s3.amazonaws.com/ddg-assets/docs/example.png)
 8
 9If you want to get involved in making DuckDuckGo a better search engine, you've come to the right place! 
10
11* If **you are a developer**, this guide serves as a master jumping-off point for the DuckDuckHack platform.
12* If **you are not a developer, but would like to become one** to help with DuckDuckHack, we recommend the [JavaScript course at Codecademy](http://www.codecademy.com/tracks/javascript). That will help you to get started with the Spice plugin type (explained below).
13* If **you have no intention of becoming a developer**, there is still a lot you can do at our [ideas companion site](http://ideas.duckduckhack.com/) where you can suggest and comment on plugin ideas such as identifying the best sites and data sources to draw from. Similarly, you can submit [issues about current plugins](https://github.com/duckduckgo/duckduckgo/issues?direction=desc&sort=created&state=open). Both of these activities are very valuable and will help direct community efforts.
14
15The DuckDuckHack platform is constantly changing as community contributors add new features. As a result, some plugin types have better interfaces than others. We will be improving the platform based on [your feedback](https://www.listbox.com/subscribe/?list_id=197814).
16Our long-term goal is to be able to distribute all DuckDuckHack (and internal) instant answers via the [DuckDuckGo Instant Answers API](https://api.duckduckgo.com). 
17Currently [fathead](https://github.com/duckduckgo/zeroclickinfo-fathead) and [goodie](#goodies-overview) plugin types 
18automatically flow through. We are working on exposing the other plugin types, which are more complicated to distribute
19and can have licensing restrictions.
20
21* To learn about new plugins, follow [@duckduckhack](https://twitter.com/duckduckhack)
22* For ongoing discussion, join the [DuckDuckHack list](https://www.listbox.com/subscribe/?list_id=197814)
23
24## Index
25
26* [For non-coders](documentation/faq.md#what-if-im-not-a-coder-at-all)
27* [Why should I make plugins?](documentation/faq.md#why-should-i-make-plugins)
28* [Getting Started](documentation/getting_started.md)
29  * [Determining Plugin Type](documentation/getting_started.md#determining-plugin-type)
30  * [Guidelines](documentation/getting_started.md#guidelines)
31* [Goodies Walkthrough](documentation/goodies_overview.md)
32* [Spice Walkthrough](documentation/spice_overview.md)
33* [Fathead Overview](https://github.com/duckduckgo/zeroclickinfo-fathead)
34* [Longtail Overview](https://github.com/duckduckgo/zeroclickinfo-longtail)
35* [General](documentation/general.md)
36  * [Basic Tutorial](documentation/general.md#basic-tutorial)
37  * [Triggers](documentation/general.md#triggers)
38  * [Submitting Plugins](documentation/general.md#submitting-plugins)
39* [Testing](documentation/testing.md)
40  * [Testing Triggers](documentation/testing.md#testing-triggers)
41      * [Installing DuckPAN](documentation/testing.md#testing-triggers)
42  * [Plugin Test Files](documentation/testing.md#plugin-test-files)
43  * [Testing Spice HTML](documentation/testing.md#testing-spice-html)
44* [Spice](documentation/spice.md)
45  * [Spice Handle Functions (spice backend)](documentation/spice.md#spice-handle-functions)
46  * [Frontend Spice development](documentation/spice2.md)
47  * [Advanced Spice Backend](https://github.com/duckduckgo/zeroclickinfo-spice#advanced-spice)
48* [Location API](documentation/location_api.md)
49* [FAQ](documentation/faq.md)